Who’s running for MP in Sittingbourne and Sheppey at the 2017 general election?

PUBLISHED: 16:33 12 May 2017 | UPDATED: 16:33 12 May 2017




Sittingbourne and Sheppey goes to the polls on June 8

With the general election just weeks away, the candidates vying for a seat in Sittingbourne and Sheppey have been revealed.

Following a scramble to get candidates after Theresa May’s shock snap-election announcement last month, the Conservatives, Liberal Democrats, Labour and Greens have chosen candidates, but Ukip will not be contesting the seat, which was created in 1997.

Labour’s Derek Wyatt held it until Gordon Henderson won for the Conservatives in 2010. He has held it ever since.

The candidates standing in Sittingbourne and Sheppey for the general election on June 8 are:

Mike Baldock (Independent)

Gordon Henderson (Cons)

Mark Lindop (Green)

Lee McCall (Independent)

Keith Nevols (Lib Dems)

Mike Rolfe (Labour)

Mad Mike Young (Monster)

Stay on our website to find out more about the candidates and for full election build-up.

Other popular content


Cllr Wells hit back after Mr Bolton claimed the leader “has not covered himself or the party in glory”


Police are urging residents to keep their homes secure


Bosses anticipate up to 10 per cent of the anticipated 15 million annual visitors will make use of the fast ferries

Digital edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter
Kent Life Food & Drink awards 2016. Open for entries.

Most read

Local business directory

Kent's trusted business finder