Who’s running for MP in Folkestone and Hythe at the 2017 general election?

PUBLISHED: 15:57 12 May 2017 | UPDATED: 10:41 15 May 2017



ian woolcock

Folkestone and Hythe goes to the polls on June 8

With the general election just weeks away, the candidates vying for a seat in Folkestone and Hythe have been revealed.

Following a scramble to get candidates after Theresa May’s shock snap-election announcement last month, all of the country’s major parties have entered a candidate to compete for the seat, which was created in 1950.

The Conservatives have held it since its inception, with former Tory leader Michael Howard occupying the seat between 1983 and 2010.

Damian Collins has held it ever since.

The candidates standing in Folkestone and Hythe for the general election on June 8 are:

Lynne Beaumont (Lib Dems)

Damian Collins (Cons)

Laura Davison (Labour)

David Plumstead (Independent)

Stephen Priestley (Ukip)

Naomi Slade (Independent)

Martin Whybrow (Green)

Stay on our website to find out more about the candidates and for full election build-up.

Other popular content

Yesterday, 09:48

Shepway District Council has defended the visit, insisting it will bring “major benefits for minimal financial outlay”

Wed, 09:37

Spitfires were beaten in a low-scoring T20 clash with Gloucestershire on Tuesday

Wed, 08:42

Teaching unions recently forecast “apocalyptic” cuts of a staggering £40m across Kent by 2020

Digital edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter
Kent Life Food & Drink awards 2016. Open for entries.

Most read

Local business directory

Kent's trusted business finder