Who’s running for MP in Faversham and Mid Kent at the 2017 general election?

PUBLISHED: 15:52 12 May 2017 | UPDATED: 10:43 15 May 2017

Faversham Creek

Faversham Creek


Faversham and Mid Kent goes to the polls on June 8

With the general election just weeks away, the candidates vying for a seat in Faversham and Mid Kent have been revealed.

Following a scramble to get candidates after Theresa May’s shock snap-election announcement last month, all of the country’s major parties have entered a candidate to compete for the seat, which was created in 1997.

The Conservatives have held it since its inception, with Andrew Rowe winning the first election, followed by Sir Hugh Robertson in 2001 and Helen Whately who stepped in to replace him two years ago.

The candidates standing in Faversham and Mid Kent for the general election on June 8 are:

Michael Desmond (Labour)

Alastair Gould (Green)

Mark McGiffin (Ukip)

David Naghi (Lib Dems)

Helen Whately (Cons)

Stay on our website to find out more about the candidates and for full election build-up.

Other popular content

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Stanford Parish Council chair Matthew Webb has led the fight against the proposals since they were first announced in 2015

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

KCC faces a drastic shortage in Year 7 places in the town over the next few years

Friday, November 10, 2017

Water levels have lowered significantly in recent days

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Temporary cuts to services have been in place since June and are not likely to return until the new year

Digital edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter
Kent Life Food & Drink awards 2016. Open for entries.

Most read

Local business directory

Kent's trusted business finder