Who’s running for MP in Dover at the 2017 general election?

PUBLISHED: 15:40 12 May 2017 | UPDATED: 10:44 15 May 2017



This content is subject to copyright.

Dover goes to the polls on June 8

With the general election just weeks away, the candidates vying for a seat in Dover have been revealed.

Following a scramble to get candidates after Theresa May’s shock snap-election announcement last month, all of the country’s major parties have entered a candidate to compete for the seat, which was created back in 1369.

Control in modern times has switched between the Conservatives and Labour, with Gwyn Prosser representing the constituency for the red party for 13 years from 1997.

Tory Charlie Elphicke has held it since 2010.

The candidates standing in Dover for the general election on June 8 are:

Stacey Blair (Labour)

Simon Dodd (Lib Dems)

Charlie Elphicke (Cons)

Beccy Sawbridge (Green)

Piers Wauchope (Ukip)

Stay on our website to find out more about the candidates and for full election build-up.

Other popular content


Cllr Wells hit back after Mr Bolton claimed the leader “has not covered himself or the party in glory”


Police are urging residents to keep their homes secure


Bosses anticipate up to 10 per cent of the anticipated 15 million annual visitors will make use of the fast ferries

Digital edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter
Kent Life Food & Drink awards 2016. Open for entries.

Most read

Local business directory

Kent's trusted business finder