Who’s running for MP in Ashford at the 2017 general election?

PUBLISHED: 13:50 12 May 2017 | UPDATED: 10:44 15 May 2017




Ashford goes to the polls on June 8

With the general election just weeks away, the candidates vying for a seat in Ashford have been revealed.

Following a scramble to get candidates after Theresa May’s shock snap-election announcement last month, all of the country’s major parties have entered a candidate to compete for the seat, which was created back in 1885.

The Conservatives have always had control of the seat since its inception, with the exception of one election in 1929, when it was won by Liberal candidate Rev. Roderick Kedward.

Tory Damian Green has held it since 1997.

The candidates standing in Ashford for the general election on June 8 are:

Sally Gathern (Labour)

Adrian Gee-Turner (Lib Dems)

Damian Green (Cons)

Gerald O’Brien (Ukip)

Mandy Rossi (Green)

Stay on our website to find out more about the candidates and for full election build-up.

Other popular content

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Stanford Parish Council chair Matthew Webb has led the fight against the proposals since they were first announced in 2015

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

KCC faces a drastic shortage in Year 7 places in the town over the next few years

Friday, November 10, 2017

Water levels have lowered significantly in recent days

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Temporary cuts to services have been in place since June and are not likely to return until the new year

Digital edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter
Kent Life Food & Drink awards 2016. Open for entries.

Most read

Local business directory

Kent's trusted business finder